Focused Series »

Indo-European Origins
Northern California
The Caucasus
Imaginary Geography
Home » Archive by Tags

Articles tagged with: Surfing

Jervis Bay: Australia’s Hidden Territory

By Martin W. Lewis | March 9, 2012 | 3 Comments

I had always thought that Australia proper* contained six states (Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Western Australia, and Tasmania) and two territories (the Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory [ACT] around Canberra). In actuality, it contains three territories. Missing from the standard list is the Jervis Bay Territory, a small coastal peninsula (67 km2 [26 sq mi]) located 150 km (93 mi) …

?php get_sidebar(); ?>